Google+

Day 7 – Garden Veggie Sandwich

Leave a comment

September 11, 2012 by cookwithjennifer

Garden Veggie Sandwich

My Menu Today:

Breakfast: Steel-cut Oatmeal with Local Honey, Walnuts, and a Dash of Cinnamon

Lunch: Leftover Brown Rice Veggie Stir-Fry with Black Beans

Dinner: Garden Veggie Sandwich from Cheffie’s Cafe

Snacks: Dark Chocolate Covered Banana Chips

 

Thoughts:

Breakfast: Same old! Same old! Obviously I’m not a creative early morning person!

Lunch: Used leftovers to make my lunch.  Decided to add some beans to my grains to make my meal a complete protein. (Thanks to the advice of my friend Nevada!  Did you see her comments in my “Expert Advice” post yesterday?) It really was a tasty and filling addition.

I’m starting to get the feeling that’s it would be hard to be a vegetarian if you didn’t like legumes!

Dinner: Dinner was on the run since I had to teach a cooking class last night.  Luckily I was teaching the class at a restaurant I designed – Cheffie’s Café – so I knew I had some good options.

When I designed the menu at Cheffie’s, I made sure our menu noted which items were vegetarian, vegan, and/or gluten-free. At the time, I did it to help out those folks looking for those special dietary needs. Our menu is based around fresh and healthy options for everyone. Little did I know that a year later, it would be helpful to me too!

I decided to have our Garden Sandwich on multi-grain bread.  It’s basically a sandwich layered with fresh veggies and hummus … but it’s tasty and good!  At Cheffie’s we use our signature Sun-dried Tomato Hummus.  But you can use whatever is your favorite.  And if you happen to be in Memphis, Cheffie’s does sell their hummus to go!

So here is the recipe of the day! Enjoy!

 

Garden Veggie Sandwiches

8 slices multi-grain bread
1 cup hummus (preferably Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus from Cheffie’s Cafe)
1/4 red onion, thinly sliced
1 cup marinated artichoke hearts
1/2 cucumber, thinly sliced
1 large tomato, thinly sliced
4 lettuce leaves

To assemble the sandwiches, evenly spread the insides of each sandwich with 1/4 cup of the hummus. Inside each sandwich, layer the red onion, artichoke hearts, cucumber, tomato, and lettuce. Close the sandwiches.

Serves 4.

Variations: Roasted red peppers, olives and sun-dried tomatoes would all be flavorful additions or substitutions. Just use your favorite fresh-from-the-garden veggies!

Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

