Google+

Day 21 – Sweet Potato Hummus

Leave a comment

September 26, 2012 by cookwithjennifer

Sweet Potato Hummus

My Menu Today:

Breakfast: Scrambled Eggs with Cheddar Cheese and Ezekiel Toast

Lunch: White Bean and Kale Soup

Dinner: Nibbles from Felicia Suzanne’s James Beard Preview Dinner

Snack: Sweet Potato Hummus with Pita Wedges

 

Thoughts:

Breakfast: Woo hoo! Lived life on the wild edge and added cheddar to my eggs!

Lunch: Today was a writing day so I went to my freezer for lunch.  Think its key to have a freezer stocked with healthy soup options.

Snacks: My friend Carolyn Dodson told me about her Sweet Potato Hummus the other day when I bought some sweet potatoes from her at the farmers market. I love sweet potatoes and she made it sound so good, I just had to give it a try!  And you know what? I am glad I did!  It is really yummy! Not surprised, since her family’s farm specializes in sweet potatoes, she should know how to cook them better than anyone!

Here’s the link to Carolyn’s blog for this (and more) recipe: click here.

Carolyn uses almond butter instead of tahini because of allergies.  I like that substitution because I keep almond butter in my pantry … and I don’t keep tahini on hand.

I think this will make a fun dip for a Halloween or Thanksgiving party too.

Dinner: So dinner … I attended my friend Felicia Willett’s preview of the dinner she will be preparing at the James Beard House next month. Since it was a preset menu, I knew there would not be many choices.  As it turned out, the only vegetarian options were the wine and dessert! Bummer to want to support your friends but not be able to enjoy their food!

Moving on to the more positive …..

So here’s the recipe of the day! Enjoy!

 

Sweet Potato Hummus

Click here for Carolyn’s original recipe and blog post.

1 medium sweet potato, baked, skin removed
1 can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 tablespoon lemon juice
2 tablespoons almond butter
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
Dash of cayenne pepper (to taste)
1 garlic clove
Salt and ground pepper (to taste)

Place all in ingredients in a food processor and blend until creamy. Serve with sweet potato chips or pita wedges.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

